At the corner of King's Bridge Road and Military Road, St.
John's, Newfoundland and Labrador.
Imagine... it's 1829 and St. John's is alive with talk of
Newfoundlanders having the same rights as every other Englishman -
the right even to manage their own affairs through their own
The Commissariat was built between 1818-1820 as the home and
offices of the Assistant Commissary General - the supply officer
for British forces in Newfoundland. Today, a new, provocative,
multi-media experience at the site recreates a volatile period in
19th-century St. John's: British naval rule is ending and a power
struggle is at hand...
About this Site >