[tidy error]

About the Colonial Building

Currently closed for renovations. Re-opening with new exhibits and restored interiors.

The Colonial Building was built between 1846 and 1850 as Newfoundland's  legislature. A gem of neoclassical architecture, the building's grandeur is a testament to the optimism its builders felt about Newfoundland's future. The building was witness to events that still resonate as integral to Newfoundland and Labrador's identity: gaining Responsible Government in 1855, the Riots of 1932 when Prime Minister Sir Richard Squires had to hide from an angry mob outside, and the National Convention of 1946. It was in these chambers that Joey Smallwood and others argued for Confederation with Canada. After Confederation in 1949, the Colonial Building was the seat of the Provincial Legislature until the Confederation Building opened in 1959.

Want to learn more? Go to the Newfoundland and Labrador Heritage Website: A History of the Colonial Building